That the world may know…

the love of Christ that surpasses knowledge.

Today I Choose October 28, 2014

Filed under: Uncategorized — karisp @ 2:51 am

I started a blog today and proceeded to erase it. There are so many thoughts that have been whirling in my mind for the past several weeks. Words cannot express all of the joys and frustrations that come with teaching. Nonetheless, here is my attempt.

 

Today was one of those days. 

 

One of those days that made me question many things. That made me wonder how on earth this is going to change.  

 

Sometimes as a teacher, you are given situations that you can only do your best in. And sometimes that best is far from enough. You literally don’t have the training or ability to affect the needed change.

 

And yet, there you are.

 

Sometimes those situations require you to make impossible choices between attempting to help one very, very squeaky wheel or helping everyone else.

 

As a teacher I’m given the responsibility to help each scholar be successful. No matter what baggage they come with. No matter where they start. They must. be. successful. That is a responsibility I take very seriously.

 

But believe me when I say sometimes it feels next to impossible. 

 

Today was one of those days I wish people who lack respect for teachers could see. You just might not believe the patience, discernment, grit, and sheer will involved.

 

 

It was one of those days that made me frustrated at the broken systems, at the unmet needs, at the unjust realities. 

 

 

Today was one of those days that made me realize that of all traits teaching requires, sometimes most of all, it requires courage.

 

 

The courage to say tomorrow, we will try again.

The courage to hope in change.

The courage to try something new, even if it fails over and over.

The courage to remember the positive moments.

The courage to look for transformation.

The courage to overcome seemingly insurmountable obstacles.

So even though today was one of those days, today I choose courage. 

 

3 Responses to “Today I Choose”

  1. You can do it! Praying for you to keep leading those kids on and pursuing this gift you have 🙂 xoxoxo

  2. Reblogged this on Granny's Ramberlings and commented:
    For all Teachers and all who have children ib the Public School system, Please read.

  3. Amen, Thank you Karis. I so wish that every Teacher and Parents sod Children in the School System could read yoour blog.
    Love You


Leave a Reply

